www.PNWJeep.com

Pacific NorthWest Jeep forum
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:50 pm 
Delicious Meat Replacement

Just thought I would share a little about a project I started thinking about this past weekend. My CRL-101 rides way too tall, doesn't have the weight distribution I'd like and has far too much trouble climbing steep ledges. So I've been looking into bodiless chassis. There are a number of kits for sale on rcccrawler.com and if I had any brains, I would probably just shell out the cash for the assurance that it just works.

But.... I've been bitten by the 'build it myself' bug. and so, I started drawing up plans for my own 2.2 crawler chassis.

It is approximately 66mm wide, 150mm long and 100mm tall between the top most point and the front lower control arm mounts. The tallest part of the cab would be mounted towards the front, to push weight forward.

What do you think? Should I order up some delrin, head over to my friends milling machine and cut a few up?

"The man who has done his level best, and who is conscious that he has done his best, is a success, even though the world may write him down as a failure." – BC Forbes

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:04 am 
whew, finally

To be a comp chassis it is not to spec... It must be 8" long...

Edit. And it must also be 3" wide at the widest part of the chassis.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 5:34 pm 

Dang! Thanks for pointing that out. I skimmed through the rules, but didn't see the additional requirements stated in section 2.3.5... Back to the drawing board.